Payton

0-2.jpeg

“My oldest sister had failed out of college her second year, and proceeded to come home and get pregnant with her boyfriend of a year. Coming from a small town this was hard to deal with, along with being embarrassing for the fact that everyone in my town knew what was happening in my sister’s life, and proceeded to judge me and my younger sister for her actions. After watching my older sister struggle with the judgmental stares and rumors, it made me grow up and realize that what other people say and do does not matter. What matters is what you know and how you feel about it. The last few months before my nephew was born, my sister and I bonded and we ended up with the strongest relationship we have ever had. Knowing now how much love I have for my nephew, sister, and her boyfriend, I realized what others say do not matter as long as your family is together.”

Interviewer: Mackenzie Schmidt

Leave a Reply

